December Reading Roundup

Hello everyone! I hope you all had fantastic holidays cozied up by a fire with a good book in hand–though with the way the weather has been, maybe scratch the bit about the fire.

December was an unusually productive reading month for me. I normally have so much going on that I don’t have as much time as I’d like to read, and with November having been NaNoWriMo I definitely wasn’t doing much reading then. Thankfully, things slow down for me in the winter, so I get much more reading done than usual. The grand total of books I’ve read this month is…*drumroll* ELEVEN!  That probably doesn’t seem like a lot to some of my friends who fly through twice as many books as that each month, but it’s an accomplishment for me!

Here are the titles I read:

THE SHORT DROP by Matthew FitzSimmons

  • This is a really great mystery/thriller whose characters pull you in and don’t release their hold over you until the very end. It involves a lot of hacking and revolves around the story of a missing girl, with some political scandal thrown in as well.

WRITTEN IN FIRE by Marcus Sakey

  • This is the third book in the Brilliance trilogy and a wonderful dystopian/scifi thriller. There are definite parallels between the events of the book and the international terrorism facing the world today, so there’s a strange (but not bad) sense of both escapism and reality when reading the book.

TERMS OF USE by Scott Allan Morrison

  • Another fantastic mystery/thriller that deals with political election scandals and issues of cyber security. This story revolves around a social media site and its owners, some of whom have gone a little rogue. This story kept me on edge from start to finish, wondering if the protagonist would live long enough to figure out who was behind the illicit activity taking place at the company.

GRAY by Pete Wentz

  • You can check out my review of this book here.

THE ICE DRAGON by George R.R. Martin

  • You can check out my review of this book here.

BIG MAGIC by Elizabeth Gilbert

  • You can check out my review of this book here.

THE DUFF by Kody Keplinger

  • I didn’t post a full review of this book because there were quite a number of things that I didn’t like about it, so I struggled with what rating to give it. Ultimately, I did give it a 3/5 because I think it sends a positive message to teens: We all have our insecurities, but they do not define who we are or our worth as human beings. Also, there’s a love letter. Why does nobody write love letters anymore?? Overall, it’s a quick, light read (I read it all in one night) that will remind people my age what it was like to be in high school. The movie adaptation was really good, too!

WE ALL LOOKED UP by Tommy Wallach

  • You can check out my review of this book here.

ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES by Jennifer Niven

  • You can check out my review of this book here.

ELEANOR by Jason Gurley

  • You can check out my review of this book here.

LIAR by Rob Roberge

  • You can check out my review of this book here.

December has been a great month not just for reading, but also for giving!! I participated in The Broke and the Bookish’s Secret Santa, which was so much fun. I loved picking out goodies for my Santee and learning about new books from her wish list! It was also a great way to learn more about the bookish community on Twitter, and make new friends in other states and other countries. My Secret Santa was Bri of https://paperbackbrii.wordpress.com/ (check out her site; it’s amazing) and she really gave me a taste of Australia!! I’m going to be rocking my Melbourne tote bag to campus in the Spring, and FANGIRL will probably be my first book of 2016!

I also got some really neat gifts from friends and family. One of my favorites is from a dear friend I met through my studies at Oxford. Last year she got me a Jane Austen action figure and, keeping with the theme, this year she got me a Pride & Prejudice board game! My family won’t play with me since they haven’t read the book (blasphemy!!), but I played with friends and it’s so much fun. There’s nothing like racing your friends to the Parish church to get married!

Another memorable gift that is dissipating too quickly (because it’s delicious) is Sherlock Holmes tea from First Edition Tea Co. I’ve read THE HOUND OF THE BASKERVILLES, watched Sherlock (multiple times and am SO excited for the special on Friday), seen the Sherlock Holmes movies, and listened to these late 1940s radio shows based on the original stories, but I haven’t actually read all the original stories. One of my goals for 2016 is to change that! I have a book of the original serialized versions, so I’m thinking I’ll do a story a week once the semester starts, since I probably won’t have much time to read novels. I’m hoping I’ll have more time than I think I will, but looking at one of my textbooks that arrived yesterday I’m not so sure….

But I have until late January to fit in as much reading between work as possible, so hopefully I get through as many novels this month as I did in December! I might even try to sneak one more short one in before the start of the New Year…

Happy 2016 everyone; I hope it’s a fantastic one for all of us!

2 thoughts on “December Reading Roundup

  1. I’m so happy your Christmas was a wonderful one. And wow! You got some neat sounding presents. Gahhh, I too love Sherlock (I’ve never read the books though, just the TV show /sigh) but I look forward to the upcoming seasons. Eleven books is a tremendous accomplishment, I could never do it. I hope your 2016 is awesome, Kat c: I look forward to seeing your future posts.

    Like

    • Thanks!! I hope you had a great Christmas and New Year’s as well 🙂 Hound of the Baskervilles is the only Doyle story I’ve read, but it was so good! And a relatively quick read so definitely check it out when you have a chance. Though even the actual Sherlock doesn’t beat BC’s portrayal of him! I won’t be able to keep reading that many books every month–it was because of the holidays, but maybe over the summer I can aim for even more! I hope you have a fantastic 2016, I’m looking forward to seeing more of your posts as well!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

