December 2015/January 2016 TBR

cropped-img_6916.jpgMy to-be-read list is miles long…I have about 1k books (no joke; I actually sat down and counted once) thanks to library sales where prices range from $0.50 to $5. The most I usually pay for one book is $1, though this past weekend I’ve been taking advantage of huge sales, free shipping, etc. to buy new books for a little more. A lot of the books I have are classics (nearly one full shelf is devoted to Hemingway, another to Jane Austen, still another to Dickens), but my latest purchases have been more contemporary novels.

The books pictured here are the most immediate on my list. I’ve heard fantastic things about Elizabeth Gilbert and while I own a copy of Eat, Pray, Love I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet; it looks like Big Magic is going to come first for me. I bought it on the recommendation of a co-worker/friend who absolutely raved about it. It sounds like there are a lot of great nuggets of advice and encouragement for aspiring writers, which is always welcome! We All Looked Up and Correction I came across on BookOutlet.com (LOVE this site!), along with Magnolia and The Ice Dragon which I’m looking forward to receiving in the mail soon. Necessary Errors was actually a Dollar Tree find, and it sounds so interesting! It seems like it has a very human, emotional element, which I love in a book; of course story is important as well, but I’m a very empathic person, so I tend to be drawn more to emotional stories.

I finally gave in to the pull of A Song of Ice and Fire after constantly hearing people go on about how amazing and brilliant the series is. My hesitation in diving into the books is that they have not all been written yet and there is such a long waiting period between books. I hate being kept in suspense, so I figured I would wait until they had all been published before cracking open the first one, but I decided to just go for it. Carpe diem! Well, seize the book may be slightly more accurate.

Another craze I decided to give in to: The Red Queen. After seeing all of the “Scarlet Guard” icons on Twitter, I figured I should check it out. I’m also hoping to read Cinder very soon, especially after watching a NaNoWriMo webinar with Marissa Meyer, who seems like the sweetest person alive! I put it on my wish list for Secret Santa, so I’m waiting to see if that’s one of the books I get or not, either from SS or “actual” Santa (aka my parents).

So many books, so little time! I always think of that episode of The Twilight Zone and then cry for days at the horrible cruelty of it….

 

Leave a Reply

